The third season of the IBL featured some new team colors, all game videos shown on youtube, and the debut of two new teams: the Ghosts and the Deadly Dogs. The season kicked off on 4/4/16 with the Smash beating the Ghosts 2-1. All games in the opening week were decided by one run.

After dropping their first game, the Beamriders continued their dominance winning their next four games. The Smash, Bombers and Ghosts also had good starts to their season.

The Armada were off to a slow start, but had an incredible six game win streak in the middle of the season.

Smash at Ghosts

Spartans at Deadly Dogs

Beamriders continue win streak
By mid-season, the Beamriders, Smash and Ghosts were all fighting for first place in the Action Network. The River Raiders turned their team around and were in first place holding off the Bombers and Armada in the Battle Network.

River Raiders scoring 5th run

Bombers 1B makes double play
The Ghosts tied single game scoring records with two six run games, one against the Armada and one against the Mutants.

The Beamriders dominated the second half to win their third Action Network championship. The Battle Network ended very close, with the Deadly Dogs winning their last five out of six games, while the Armada and River Raiders had a mediocre second half. The Armada ended up winning the network on a tie-breaker.
The Beamriders again hosted Game 1 of the championship series, this season on June 27. The Armada got a string of hits to score a run in the 2nd inning, then the Beamriders tied the game in the 4th. The Armada got some big hits in the 13th inning to win the game 2-1.

Armada scores their first run

Beamriders tie it up

Armada scores their winning run
Game 2 was the next day at Armada Arena. The Beamriders won 1-0 to even the series.
Game 3 was back at Beamriders Field. The Beamriders won another tight 1-0 game to become back-to-back league champions.

This was the least amount of runs scored in an IBL championship series, and the tightest score margins in an IBL championship series. It was also the third straight IBL championship series to go all three games.